To Those Who Changed The World: A Thank You to the Boomers

Dear Boomers,

Thank you for carving out the future.

Thank you for raising your voices for social change. I’m fortunate to work in the sector that now supports what you protested and advocated for in your youth. You continue to be activists and community supporters.

Thank you for expecting professionalism from me as a manager of volunteers. You expect me to work with you to create projects, rather than telling you what to do. You aren’t content to accept menial volunteer roles and I respect you for wanting to use your time to use your skills and innovate. Your generation had the most personal freedom of any before it and now you look for flexible and adaptive volunteer opportunities, challenging the traditional or typical volunteer tasks we’ve had in the past.

Thank you for being so tech savvy! Most of you are online and probably have a higher speed internet connection than I do! It’s a good thing too, this allows me to use Social Media and other free web resources to inform you about our organization and volunteer opportunities.

Thank you to the “me” generation for opening the discussion about “what’s in it for me?” in volunteering. It’s lead me to ask you why you volunteer and to do my best to provide you with the experiences you crave to help you feel fulfilled in your volunteer role.

Thank you for making the world a better place for volunteering! Your generation will live to longer and be healthier than any generation before it!

 I’ve got to run. Gramma is texting from her cell and mom is messaging me on Facebook. She probably tagged me in another embarrassing photo and I should take care of that.

Yours truly,

Janet

PS – I really enjoyed the presentation from David Cravit of Zoomer Media and the Kerby Centre! Enjoy the slides and that Needs Assessment I promised on our Member Website.

About Propellus

Propellus is a non-profit organization that has been empowering organizations since 1955. Through a dynamic range of consulting, training and member services, it helps organizations envision and realize new paths, practices and possibilities. Propellus guides, mentors and educates clients, arming them with tools and resources to help boost organizational effectiveness. Propellus strengthens organizations; in doing so, it leads the way toward building thriving communities.
This entry was posted in For Volunteer Managers, For Volunteers and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

