Why does your Non-profit need third-party advice?

I am a creature of habit and I have been going to the same barber for the past 5 years. He is affordable, a great conversationalist and gives a great cut. In fact, my barber is so good that I don’t even have to tell him how to cut my hair, he just knows! A couple of weeks ago, prior to an “important business meeting” (birthday party); I went to my barber only to find he was closed for the day. Left with no other option, I Google Mapped nearby barbers and went to the closest one I could find. I entered the establishment with some hesitation and took a seat; I need not remind anyone of the various horror stories of haircuts gone wrong. As I anxiously awaited my name to be called, I leafed through old US Weekly magazines frantically paging through Goslings, Clooneys, and Pitts. Taking a leap of faith, I decided to leave it in the hands of the professional.

As I sat down, the barber asked me “what kind of haircut would you like?” I responded “what would you recommend?” Later at that “important business meeting” (birthday party), the first thing I was greeted with upon arrival was “Cool Haircut!”

Recently, I got into a discussion with a colleague about the value consultants bring to nonprofit organizations. It is difficult to understand why an Executive Director, who best knows the intricate details of how their organization operates, would look for an outside opinion. We are all drawn to our various vocations within the sector for different reasons but undoubtedly a commonality amongst all of us would be a passion for a particular cause, belief or idea. What happens though when that passion gets in the way of progress? As shown in the parable of the cool haircut relayed above, an opinion from an experienced professional outside of your organization can bring a fresh perspective and new and innovative ways of doing things!

Volunteer Calgary’s Consulting Matrix describes the various ways in which we can help you to strengthen your organization but the best way to get the conversation started is to fill out our Request for Consultation form.

Request a consultation.

I hope to hejeff resizedar from you soon!

Jeff D’Silva

Manager, Consulting at Volunteer Calgary

jdsilva@volunteercalgary.ab.ca / (403)231-1431

About Propellus

Propellus is a non-profit organization that has been empowering organizations since 1955. Through a dynamic range of consulting, training and member services, it helps organizations envision and realize new paths, practices and possibilities. Propellus guides, mentors and educates clients, arming them with tools and resources to help boost organizational effectiveness. Propellus strengthens organizations; in doing so, it leads the way toward building thriving communities.
This entry was posted in For Volunteer Managers. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

