Reflections of a Leader of Tomorrow

Hi, my name is Alexander Flynn-Belanger and I was the recipient of the 2013 leaders of tomorrow award- elementary division.Belanger 3

It was back in January when I found out I was nominated for this award by my teacher. It was a great honour to know that people recognized me and how often I volunteer.

Some of the volunteering I have done in the past includes:

-Feed the hungry at St Mary’s cathedral where we served meals to people who needed it at Christmas -My family and I make and hand out bagged lunches to the homeless downtown around thanksgiving, a tradition we started when I was 5 -My mom and I ring bells for Salvation Army Red Kettle Campaign -I participated in building a sport court with make a wish foundation -I shaved my head for shave a lid for a kid after growing my hair for 6 months, raising almost $700.

I volunteer because not all people have as fortunate a life as I do. It makes me feel good to give back to my community. It’s the little things that help the most, I think.

When I found out I won it was such a great surprise. What an honour to be chosen when there were so many deserving candidates.

The process of having the video done at Theatre Grand was super fun. The video shoot at my school made me feel like a rock star!

Alex Flynn-BelangerThe anticipation leading up the gala was unreal. I was so excited. The day of the gala finally came. I left school early and went for a special lunch with my mom. My expectations of the gala were nowhere near what it was. I expected it to be cool but it was actually amazing!

At the gala I was introduced to many people- from the nominating committee to the folks from Encana to fellow award recipients. Even the mayor was there to support us all. I heard many inspiring stories and was asked to tell mine many times. One woman stands out in my memory from that night- she approached me to tell me it was amazing I had shaved my head for cancer to help people like her who had lost her hair from cancer. She told me her friends were to chicken to do what I bravely did.

The dinner was delicious. I also really liked the hors d’oeuvre. I was given a beautiful engraved award, I will display proudly.

I would like to thank Encana, Volunteer Calgary and my family for inspiring me to volunteer.

My volunteer journey is not over. I’m going to continue to volunteer as this has inspired me to give more.

I hope hearing my story inspires other kids and people to give their time to help others.

It really is worth it.

About Propellus

Propellus is a non-profit organization that has been empowering organizations since 1955. Through a dynamic range of consulting, training and member services, it helps organizations envision and realize new paths, practices and possibilities. Propellus guides, mentors and educates clients, arming them with tools and resources to help boost organizational effectiveness. Propellus strengthens organizations; in doing so, it leads the way toward building thriving communities.
This entry was posted in For Volunteer Managers, For Volunteers, Spotlight on Volunteers. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

